Bora Bora

Bora Bora

  • Population:9 596
  • Surface:24 km²
  • Capital:Vaitape
  • Flight time:50 minutes from Tahiti

Bora Bora, The Pearl of the Pacific,

Bora Bora (the first born, spelled “Pora Pora” in Tahitian) is located 255 km from Tahiti. It is also called Mai te pora (created by the gods).

The island is only 8 km from north to south and 5 km from east to west. The total surface is less than 40 km² – islets included. As for the area of the lagoon, it is close to 120 km²! A real gem in a mother-of-pearl, a jewel surrounded by a lagoon of turquoise waters hence the nickname of “Pearl of the Pacific!”

The highest peak the Mount Otemanu (727 m) symbolizes the island of Bora Bora as well as its lagoon. This majestic mountain is visible from around the island and from the “motu” (islets). “Iconic, mysterious, masterful…” What else? Adjectives aren’t enough to qualify this place. 

A coral rosary protects Bora Bora like a dike and its reefy barrier has only one opening onto the ocean though the Teavanui Pass.

To the east and north of the island, the reef consists of a series of islets made up of corals and sand called “motus”.

The most luxurious resorts of the island, as well as all French Polynesia, are true gems worthy of the natural beauty of our “Pearl of the Pacific”, nesting on these “motu”!

The Must-sees
By Tahiti Experiences
©TAHITI EXPERIENCES
©Tahiti Tourisme
©Tahiti Tourisme

Rent a boat (with or without a licence, with or without a skipper), discover the sea side of the island, the richness of the seabed, meet the rays and sharks, just experience a moment out of time, lulled by the soft sound of the wind with the surrounding panorama of the lagoon with its 50 shades of blue!

“ENJOY!” Bora Bora is the stronghold of Polynesia’s finest 5-star hotels. Take the time and let yourself be pampered by attentive staff! Enjoy the facilities with high-end services available: infinity pool, jacuzzi, spa, steam room, gym, yoga, mini-golf…. and do enjoy the delicacies offered by the various 5 stars dining options!

“LOVE” Bora Bora is by far the epitomy of romance! Romantic or family getaway, with friends, treat yourself to an unforgettable sunset cruise!  Aboard a spacious and comfortable luxury boat or catamaran, be the spectator of natural fireworks of effects, with rainbows of colors, an out-of-the-world experience offered by Mother Nature! To capture this moment of a lifetime, choose a professional photographer and end the experience on a romantic touch with a special evening with a dinner on the beach!

Choose one or even several of the many activities offered by the local professionals. Among outdoor activities, choose a seaplane flight, or a helicopter tour, or if you’re into water actvities, go on an exploration or introductory dive, or a glass-bottomed boat trip or even an underwater exploration. Get a chance to travel over the lagoon with parasailing or simply get back on track with a 4X4 safari tour, just make your choice!

Photos

COVID-19 - Travel conditions to French Polynesia – Find out more here

Bora Bora

Bora Bora

  • Habitants :9 596
  • Superficie :24 km²
  • Chef-Lieu :Vaitape
  • Durée de vol :50min depuis Tahiti

Bora Bora La Perle du Pacifique,

Bora-Bora (en tahitien : Pora Pora : «première née») est située à 255 km de Tahiti. On l’appelle aussi Mai te pora («créée par les dieux»).

L’île ne mesure que 8 km du nord au sud et 5 km d’est en ouest. La superficie totale, îlots compris, est inférieure à 40 km². Quant à la superficie du lagon, elle avoisine les 120 km² : un vrai petit bijou, une perle dans son écrin de bleu à qui l’on ne pouvait donner d’autres surnoms que celui de Perle du Pacifique !

Le point culminant est le Mont Otemanu (727 m). Cette silhouette est le symbole de Bora-Bora, au même titre que son lagon. Ce mont majestueux est visible de toute l’île et des « motu » (îlots).
Emblématique, mystérieux, magistral… les qualificatifs ne manquent pas !

Un chapelet de corail protège Bora Bora comme une digue. Il s’agit d’une barrière de récif, qui a la particularité de ne présenter qu’une seule ouverture sur l’océan : la passe de Teavanui.

À l’est et au nord de l’île, le récif est constitué d’une série d’îlots composés de coraux et de sable appelés « motus ».

Ce sont sur ces « motus » que se trouvent les plus luxueux resorts de l’île, mais aussi de Polynésie, de véritables joyaux dignes de la beauté naturelle de notre Perle du Pacifique !

Les Incontournables
By Tahiti Experiences
©TAHITI EXPERIENCES
©Tahiti Tourisme
©Tahiti Tourisme

Louez un bateau (avec ou sans permis, avec ou sans skipper), partez à la découverte de l’île côté mer, découvrez la richesse des fonds marins, rencontrez les raies et les requins, vivez un moment hors du temps, bercé par le doux son des alizés avec en toile de fond un lagon aux 50 nuances de bleu !

Savourez ! Haut lieu de l’hôtellerie de luxe, Bora Bora est le fief des plus beaux hôtels 5 étoiles de Polynésie. Prenez le temps, laissez-vous dorloter par un personnel attentionné, profitez des installations aux prestations haut de gamme mises à votre disposition : piscine à débordement, jacuzzi, spa, hammam, salle de sport, yoga, mini-golf ….et n’oubliez pas de savourer les mets délicats offerts par les diverses options de restauration, elles aussi 5 étoiles !

Aimez ! Bora Bora, symbole du romantisme par excellence : en amoureux, en famille mais aussi entre amis, offrez-vous une inoubliable croisière au coucher de soleil ! A bord d’un spacieux et confortable bateau de luxe, assistez à un véritable feu d’artifice, un arc en ciel de couleurs, un spectacle offert par Dame Nature à vous laisser sans voix ! Et pour immortaliser ce moment d’une vie, pourquoi ne pas choisir un photographe professionnel et clore en beauté cette soirée privilégiée avec un dîner privé sur la plage de votre hôtel !

Optez pour l’une (ou encore mieux plusieurs !) des nombreuses activités proposées par les professionnels de la place. Entre un safari 4X4, un vol en hydravion, en hélicoptère, du parachute ascensionnel, une plongée d’exploration ou un baptême, une sortie en bateau à fond de verre ou encore une randonnée aquatique, vous trouverez forcément ce dont vous avez envie !

Photos

Collection Bora Bora

COVID-19 - Conditions de voyage en Polynésie Française – Plus d’informations ici